top of page

Anointing of the sick

Remember that you are not alone in your journey. In moments of physical or emotional pain, know that there is strength within you to persevere. Seek solace in the support of loved ones, the care of medical professionals, and the comforting presence of your faith.

Anointing of the sick sacrament

The Anointing of the Sick is a sacrament in the Catholic Church that is administered to those who are seriously ill or approaching the end of their lives. It is also sometimes referred to as the "Last Rites" or "Extreme Unction." The purpose of this sacrament is to provide spiritual healing, strength, and consolation to the person who is suffering.

 Four Important Things


Spiritual Healing and Comfort

The primary purpose of the Anointing of the Sick is to provide spiritual healing and comfort to the recipient.


Through the sacrament, Catholics believe that God's grace is bestowed upon the sick person, offering strength, peace, and the forgiveness of sins. It is not solely focused on physical healing but encompasses the holistic well-being of the individual.


Ritual andAdministration

The sacrament is typically administered by a priest or bishop. It involves the anointing of the sick person with holy oil, known as the Oil of the Sick or the Oil of the Infirm, on the forehead and hands. The priest prays for the sick person, asking for God's healing and strength. The ritual may also include the laying on of hands and the prayer of the community gathered.


Sacrament ofthe Church

The Anointing of the Sick is one of the seven sacraments recognised by the Catholic Church. It is considered a sacrament of healing, along with the Sacrament of Reconciliation (Confession) and the Sacrament of the Eucharist (Communion). It is an outward sign of the Church's care and concern for the sick and a means of uniting the suffering of the individual with the suffering of Christ.


Preparation andEligibility

The Anointing of the Sick is intended for those who are seriously ill or facing a significant health crisis. It is not limited to those who are near death but can be received multiple times if the person's condition worsens or another serious illness arises.


The sacrament can be received by anyone who has reached the age of reason (typically around 7 years old) and is open to Catholics in a state of grace. 

bottom of page